Embargo Watch

Keeping an eye on how scientific information embargoes affect news coverage

Embargoes and the Ingelfinger Rule: My presentation to SWINY

with one comment

The SWINY social logo

Last Monday, I had the pleasure of serving on a panel on embargoes for Science Writers in New York (SWINY). I was joined by Steve Sternberg of US News and World Report, Neda Afsarmanesh of Nature, and Elaine Larson of the American Journal of Infection Control for what I found to be a provocative and open discussion of one of my pet topics.

Here are my slides from the event, which build on previous presentations I’ve given as my thought process evolves. As I’ve tried to make clear, my problem isn’t with embargoes, as long as they’re consistent. It’s with the way the Ingelfinger Rule makes scientists reluctant to speak to reporters (scroll down for the slide control panel):

Thanks to Nancy Lapid for help formatting my slides.

Written by Ivan Oransky

October 3, 2011 at 9:30 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I wish I could have been there. Some of the information in this presentation will be very useful next time I need to convince a researcher that talking with journalists really is worth his or her time (yes, that’s all part of a PIOs job!)

    William Raillant-Clark

    October 5, 2011 at 3:15 pm


Leave a Reply

