Embargo Watch

Keeping an eye on how scientific information embargoes affect news coverage

This blog is embargoed until June 30: I’m going on vacation

with 4 comments

Photo by voght via flickr http://www.flickr.com/photos/voght/

My wife and I are leaving tomorrow for a 10-day-long vacation during which I don’t plan to have much, if any, web access. So go ahead, journalists, break all the embargoes you want. Press officers, come up with freakishly bizarre embargo policies. Keep up the short embargo race. Ingelfinger yourselves into oblivion.

In the spirit of coming close to, but not quite, breaking the embargo on where we’re going, I won’t name the place. I’ll just say that it’s a country whose name is a bird in English, and that sources say there is a city there that was once called Constantinople.

Oh, and the only kind of embargoes I know about there involve trade, particularly the arms trade. Of course, if there are any Embargo Watch readers in this unnamed country, please ping me today or tomorrow.

I’ll be sure to catch up on all of the activity once I’m back, and I look forward to seeing lots of tips in my inbox, as always.

Written by Ivan Oransky

June 18, 2010 at 5:00 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Enjoy! We had a lovely week there a few years ago.

    anne marie

    June 18, 2010 at 4:04 pm

  2. Hah, just in time to miss the following email received from @aacr:

    “The embargo has been lifted on the AACR press release: “Coffee May Protect Against Head and Neck Cancers,” due to a violation by Drug Discovery and Development and the Sci-Tech Heretic blog. Reporters may post their stories effective immediately.”

    Have a wonderful holiday, Ivan.

    sally

    June 18, 2010 at 4:34 pm

  3. Now that Sally has posted a newly broken embargo, I am wondering how much temptation there will be to get one last post in?!

    Enjoy!

    Liz

    June 18, 2010 at 4:41 pm


Leave a Reply

